top of page
Search

Reading "for Fun": How to Get Rid of the End of the Semester Reading Slump

As an English student, I read a lot... like a lot. So much so that often when semester breaks roll around, I find myself reaching for my laptop to catch up on TV rather than opening a book that has been sitting on my shelf.


As English majors, there is so much demanded of us. We are expected to read texts, essays, short stories, etc. so quickly that often by the end of the semester, the thing we love so much and want to dedicate our lives to becomes more of a chore than something relaxing.


We all find ourselves reading 15–20 books a semester so that by the time winter, spring, or summer break rolls around, some of us can't even imagine picking up a book for at least the first week or two.


It happens to me every semester without fail and by the end of these breaks, I always feel so disappointed in myself for not reading more. I feel like I am a "bad" English major for watching TV rather than reading Shakespeare or the all of the latest fiction that it seems the rest of my peers are reading over break.


So for anyone out there who can relate to the end of semester reading slump, I have made a list of a few tips to get yourself through it and back to reading for fun.


 

1. Don't feel guilty not reading

It has been a long semester! If you don't wanna read then don't! Spend time with family, binge that show, and sleep. You have done your best and sometimes you need that break to refresh.


2. Ease into it

After a semester of complex and tough literature, take a beat for yourself. Don't immediately crack open War and Peace, try and start off small. Maybe get a book of short stories or poetry and just read a few pages a day. (Book Rec! One of my favorite collections of short stories is Reader I Married Him, they are all stories inspired by the famous line from Jane Eyre.)


3. Get a short loan from the library

I am a deadline-driven person. So when I get to the point where I just need to jump back into reading because I know how much better I will feel after, I go to my local library and get one of their books that they offer the short 3-day or week-long loan for. Having this shorter deadline rather than a library's standard 30-day loan keeps me more motivated to read and get me out of my reading slump.


4. Write

Even though by the end of the semester most of us also feel burned-out from writing, I find it helps inspire me to read. Even if it is something as simple as writing a review on Goodreads.com. It gets me thinking about books and more motivated to actually pick it up.


 

Hope this helps! If any of you have any other tips and tricks, feel free to contact me and let me know!


Happy reading.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page